Adelaide The Magnificent

6 May

A long time ago, I met this lady who taught me a thing or two about the circus.  I don’t know why I’ve never mentioned her to ya’ll before, because she’s a pretty important character.  You see, this gal is very knowledgeable about the circus.  In fact, she has taught many of our performers secrets that have improved their talents imenseley!  When I first started dealin’ panties, I got a little discouraged about my act.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with my life.  And my wooden leg had become somewhat of a burden on me.  I took a year off from the circus about four years ago.  Did I ever tell ya’ll that?  Well, I did!  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do next.  Then, I remembered something that this lady had told me… She said, “Mavis, I think you and Gertrude have real potential.  You should use your friendship to your advantage.”  When that popped in my head, I knew what I had to do!  I went to Ms. Adelaide and sought some advice.  Now, she herself was a master of circustry.  If I told you what she did, you wouldn’t believe me anyway.  Oh, all right.  Her act consists of spinning a web like a spider in front of a live audience… Adelaide is like “the human spider” they say…  she weaves a tangled web of golden yarn… Suspense builds as the drums roll.  The grand finale is when… with one graceful swoop of her arms she untangles the yarn__ and like a cat’s cradle between two hands she reveals a perfectly orchestrated diarama of constellations that spell out:  “Adelaide The Magnificent!”  We still don’t know how she does it.  It looks like some kind of parlour trick.  Anyway, I went to Adelaide for advice, and she suggested that Gertrude and I start up an act.  It was she that really coached us, molded us and refined our act.  We simply wouldn’t be the Gertrude and Mavis we are today without her!  To boot, I would like to take this opportunity (as it is long overdue) to thank Ms. Adelaide.  Thank you Adelaide The Magnificent.  Without the initial nudge in the right direction and the last three years of guidance, who knows where Gertrude and I would be?  Love, Mavis, Juniper, Gertrude and Hilari  😉

Leave a Reply

