Sawn in Half, Part II

11 May

Now you all of you dedicated Mavis fans may recall a tale of a young lady by the name of Beatrice encountering her fateful and unfortunate death by being sliced into two at the hands of a maniac named Tom. It was a sad day for us all a the circus. We all were very fond of our dear Miss Elmore. After that very dismal event, we laid Beatrice’s cold corpse to rest in a modest yet adequate cemetary nearby. I said a few sentimental words about her and our first fateful encounter at that coffee shop. The Siamese Twins shared a handkerchief and as soon as they tossed it into her grave, we began piling the dirt on top. We thought we’d never see our dear Miss Elmore again. Boy were we wrong! Weeks went by. It seemed like an eternity. We had set up camp in Pau, France and the postman rapped on my door the second day of the circus. I was surprised. I don’t usually get mail since we’re a traveling troupe. It was a small pink envelope with no return address. I carefully opened it. Inside was a letter that read as follows:
Dearest Mavis Rose,
I didn’t know who else to contact. I have been kidnapped by a band of gypsies. They replaced me with my doppleganger weeks ago. I am so afraid! Please help me! I am in a small town in Texas called Paris. Sincerely, Beatrice E.
I was flabbergasted! Our dear Miss Elmore was still alive! I ran to tell everyone else! They could hardly believe it. But I showed them the letter. We had to get to Texas… and fast! So, Juniper and I hopped the next plane to the United States!!! It wasn’t too difficult to locate a band of dirty gypsies in a small Texas town. We just asked a bunch of rednecks, and they pointed us in the right direction. Juniper and I wanted to avoid confrontation. So, in the middle of the night, we stole our Beatrice back! She was elated with joy! We brought her back to the circus, and everyone was overjoyed with laughter!
The End, Mavis Rose Sinclair

Leave a Reply

