Periwinkle Chomski

19 May

It was a long night. Each and every performer agreed that the message from the audience was that of expectancy. They needed something from us. I think it was that they lusted for our energy and sucked us dry by the end of the night. Elgina mentioned that during her entire act, she was snoozing. And Gertrude and I were beat like whipped cream after our intense pounding session. Now, I’m not saying that this is unusual. We often have nights where we are sucked dry. However, tonight was extreme. As I hobbled to my wagon, I had to use my friendly pachyderm for support. Her sweaty skin left a salty residue on my new sequined tutu. But at that point, I was lackadasical. It was not important. My main goal was crawling into my fluffy bed and nodding off into deep slumber. As my wagon came closer into view, it seemed as if something was placed on the front steps. It was a freshly potted plant. “How odd”, I thought. I looked in all directions to no avail. Who would have placed this pretty pot on my porch? I took a closer gander to survey the plant. It was a magnificent Periwinkle. Hmmmm. How rare indeed. A very timid voice whispered out of the shadows behind my wagon. “Ma’m, I’m traveling around these parts and I’m lookin’ for a place to stay.” As he stepped out of the shadows he rolled a bicycle along his side. With hair disguising his face his head hung low. It was if he were trying to humbly ask for permission with his gestures. There was an immediate sense of trust between me and that man. I told I could most likely get him some lodging with Al the Mechanic. With this, he meandered over to the Periwinkle, and with grace, picked it up and strapped it to the top of his head like a fancy hat! It was a sight to see indeed! A potted Periwinkle on a man’s head with a strap snugly tied under his chin. He wore it as if it were part of his body. I walked him over to Al’s wagon. And just as I figured, Al was fine with the new guest. His name was Periwinkle Chomski. I told him that the next morning, he could ask the circus manager for a job. But, he was gone as soon as he showed up. What an interesting fellow. I wonder if I’ll ever see him again?

Leave a Reply

