Winding Roads and Hissing Roaches

23 Aug

You will not believe this story. Yesterday, I went to an old friend’s house for a party. When I got there, all my friends from years ago were lounging around drinking and talking. The apartment belongs to my friend, Andrew. It was a strange place nestled in the countryside. I don’t even know how I really got there. Anyway, I was sitting on the couch next to Andrew, when all of the sudden a giant hissing roach crept out of the cushions! I screamed and jumped off the couch. The hissing roach pounced onto Andrew’s shoulder and crawled down his shirt. Surprisingly, he was rather calm about the situation. The damn bug was at least 2 inches long and 1 inch wide. It would curl up it’s back till it was standing on it’s hind legs and hiss at you. It looked me in the eye for goodness sake!!! I couldn’t stand the thought of staying there. The hissing roach was no where to be found after Andrew flung it across the room. I was scared to death. To avoid the creepy critter, I fled the apartment in disgust. For some reason, I decided to jog. I looked down and my wooden leg was missing. There was a lovely fleshy leg in its place!!! I began to jog. Usually, I have no endurance for running. And of course, my leg prevents me from doing so. However, I felt free as a bird that day! I ran and ran and ran up and down dirt roads winding through beautiful countryside. It was exhilarating!!! I had run for about an hour. I began to realize that I had no idea where I was. Oh, shit! How would I find my way back? Then, I woke up. I looked under the covers at my leg. It was still made of wood. -The End, Mavis

Leave a Reply

